My Application To Work At Golin Harris #dsmmcm1314

George whiting

Golin Harris are  a  world leading PR Agency, their clients include some of the most prestigious brands in marketing such as McDonalds, Smirnoff, Unilever and Coca Cola. The work has been recognised throughout the industry,so far  in 2013 they have been awarded;

Consultancy of the year – PR Week

American Agency of the year – Holmes Report

Best Digital Campaign – Asia Marketing Awards

When I heard Golin Harris had launched a 3  month paid  internship programme, I was very excited! The first stage of the application process was to create a video covering letter, as I have always wanted to build a carer at a company like Golin Harris it seemed appropriate to do the video dressed as a builder outside their office. I loaded my video onto a USB stick and submitted my application via post, alongside a toolbox full of biscuits (some would argue this was bribery!).

I was lucky enough to be invited to a assessment centre, which involved;

  • Group activity, where we had to go through a client brief and put together a pitch,
  • Interview
  • Written exam, which sounds really intimidating but it was simply writing a press release.

The day was really well structured and you could tell from the assessment centre that the company has an incredible culture. All the employees were incredibly motivated and passionate about their work, a quality which was infectious throughout the assesment.

At the end of the day many of the directors joined  us to share their industry expertise and career guidance, this demonstrated the commitment Golin Harris has to investing in young talent and how much they values their junior staff.

I’m really pleased to say I was successful in my application to Golin Harris, I’ll be posting some more about my experience at Golin Harris soon.

